End Citizens United To Practice What It Preaches In Funding Campaigns

End Citizens United is gearing up for 2018 by marking a number of Republican incumbents for defeat. However, the Democratic political action committee will be following its own philosophy by avoiding large sources of funding.

In its “Big Money 20” program, the PAC expects to invest some $35 million to bring down Republican members of the U.S. Congress. This is some $10 million more than it spent in 2016. However, the organization is considered a traditional PAC and does not accept single donations of more than $5,000. Most of its funding thus comes in smaller donations made by its members.

The funds collected in its 2018 program will be used in 20 pivotal races, two of which involve the Senate and the rest the House of Representatives. The two Republican senators the PAC hopes to defeat are Ted Cruz of Texas and Dean Heller of Nevada. The House races will also take place in states that were both “blue” and “red” in 2016, including districts currently held by such Republicans as Dana Rohrbacher and Mimi Walters, both from California, and Will Hurd, who serves Texas.

Like on Facebook

In its advertising, End Citizens United will emphasize finance reform and promote the need to remove large donations from the American political scene. This method proved fruitful in the 2016 U.S. Senate race in Nevada, which was won by Democratic candidate Catherine Cortez Masto. Research showed that voters who were not affiliated with major political parties responded favorably to the campaign finance reform message, with the issue apparently helping to secure a Democratic victory.

End Citizens United was established in 2015, five years after the U.S. Supreme Court decision that effectively eliminated restrictions on spending in American political campaigns. The PAC that adopted the name of the ruling is dedicated to tackling the issue of runaway spending. Based in the nation’s capital, End Citizens United has some three million members across the United States. Its current president is Tiffany Muller.